METALLICA And Justice For All (Remastered)



METALLICA And Justice For All (Remastered)



…And Justice for All is Metallica’s fourth studio album, released on September 7, 1988[4]. After the loss of their previous bassist Cliff Burton in 1986, this was Metallica’s first album with Jason Newsted.

Metallica recorded the album with producer Flemming Rasmussen at One on One Recording Studios in Los Angeles in early 1988. It’s has a lot of verse-chorus structures and a lot of complexity. It has poetic themes of political and legal injustices like censorship and war. The cover, conceived by Roger Gorman and illustrated by Stephen Gorman, features Lady Justice bound in chains, being tugged to her breaking point by Metallica guitarist James Hetfield and drummer Lars Ulrich. The album’s title is taken from the Pledge of Allegiance’s last four words. “Harvester of Sorrow”, “Eye of the Beholder” and “One” were released as singles, with the title track being a promotional single.

But its thin mix and hardly discernible bass guitar were slammed by music journalists. It was nominated for a Grammy Award in 1989, but lost out to Jethro Tull in the ill-fated Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance Vocal or Instrumental category. Metallica’s first Grammy Award came with the song “One” from their debut music video (and the first ever in the Best Metal Performance category). As a result of selling eight million copies in the US, the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) awarded it 8 platinum status in 2003.

  • A1 Blackened 6:42
  • A2 …And Justice For All 9:45
  • B1 Eye Of The Beholder 6:26
  • B2 One 7:23
  • C1 The Shortest Straw 6:35
  • C2 Harvester Of Sorrow 5:45
  • C3 The Frayed Ends Of Sanity 7:41
  • D1 To Live Is To Die 9:48
  • D2 Dyers Eve 5:13

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
Dimensions 34 × 34 × .8 cm

© Underground Records. All rights reserved.

Privacy | Terms of Sale | Support